There are three types of student awards at the CSRSEF: Grand Awards, Category Awards, and Special Awards.  High school students can also nominate their teacher for the Bruce Murdock Teacher of the Year Award.

Visit our Archives for a complete listing of past fair winners.

Grand Awards

The top two winners of the CSRSEF will receive an all-expenses paid trip to participate in the 2015 Intel International Science & Engineering Fair (ISEF) in Pittsburgh, PA May 10-15. Students travel with all of the Intel ISEF participants from Washington State.

Grand Awards are selected by the CSRSEF Head Judges during a special judging session.  All Grand Award winners and their parents are expected to attend a special meeting immediately following the CSRSEF awards ceremony to discuss ISEF policies and procedures.

Category Awards

Category award winners are chosen by category judges.  The number of awards (1st, 2nd, 3rd) depends on participation levels and the quality of projects within each category.  Since the CSRSEF is a small fair, we often group categories together and make awards within each category group.

To receive a category award, a project must be of the highest quality within their category.   For this reason, not all categories are guaranteed 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place prizes.

Visit our Category page for a full list of the CSRSEF categories and subcategories.  Full judging criteria can be found on our Student page.

Special Awards

Special awards are sponsored by local and national businesses and organizations.  Eligibility varies from award to award, and recipients are chosen by special awards judges.

Below is a sampling of the types of special awards and prizes that will be presented at the fair.  A  final listing of awards will be posted after award information is confirmed with sponsors.  Special thanks to our local sponsors and local chapters handling awards distributed by ISEF.

Award Name Description
American Meteorological Society Awarded to the best project dealing with atmospheric and related oceanic and hydrologic sciences.
American Psychological Association Awarded to the student whose project represents outstanding research in psychology in the Behavioral and Social Science Category.
ASM Materials Education Foundation Award Awarded to the most outstanding exhibit in materials science and engineering. The winning project will need to use materials-related concepts, demonstrate some aspect of the materials paradigm, be clear in presentation, and demonstrate a clear understanding of the scientific method.
Association for Women Geoscientists Awarded to female students whose projects involve the geosciences in a significant way.
Intel Excellence in Computer Science Awarded to the top winner of the computer science category.
MU Alpha Theta Awarded to the individual or team demonstrating the most challenging, original, thorough, and creative investigation of a problem involving modern mathematics. The winning project does not necessarily have to be entered in the Mathematics category.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration NOAA’s “Taking the Pulse of the Planet” Award will be awarded to a project whose research emphasizes NOAA’s mission: to understand and predict changes in Earth’s environment and to conserve and manage coastal and marine resources to meet our Nation’s economic, social, and environmental needs
National Society of Professional Engineers Award given to the most innovative engineering project that demonstrates principles of applied engineering. The winning project will demonstrate technical competence, superior verbal and written presentation, and awareness of ethical implications of engineering.
Ricoh Sustainable Development Award Awarded to an individual or team whose principles and technical innovations offer the greatest potential for increasing our ability to grow environmentally friendly and socially responsible businesses.
Society for In Vitro Biology Awarded to the most outstanding 11th grade student exhibiting in the areas of plant or animal in vitro biology or tissue culture.
Stockholm Junior Water Prize Awarded to the best projects relating to or dealing with water treatment, management, protection or quality. Opportunity to advance to the National Water Environment Federation Competition.
U.S. Air Force Awarded to projects focused on science and technology; that encourage studies in math, sciences and engineering; and are applicable to the Air Force.
U.S. Army Award Awarded to the best projects in any category representing innovative ideas of interest to the U.S. Army.
U.S. Metric Association Awarded to the project in the senior division that demonstrates correct and consistent use of The International System of Units (a.k.a. metric) in measuring and displaying data
U.S. Navy/Marine Corps Awarded to students whose projects demonstrate excellent scientific thought and process skills.

We will also have  a People’s Choice Award where fair visitors have a chance to be the judge.  The project with the most votes wins!

Bruce Murdock Teacher of the Year Award

Do you have a great science teacher?  Nominate him/her for the Bruce Murdock Teacher of the Year Award!

To nominate your teacher, send us a letter telling us how he/she has supported you throughout the science fair process.  Please be sure to tell us about your teacher’s:

  • Creativity
  • Dedication to Students
  • Efforts to help students understand the science or engineering process

Send your finished letters to the CSRSEF director on or before March 1, 2014.

The winning teacher will receive an acrylic award and a Kindle Fire during the CSRSEF Award Ceremony.

About the Bruce Murdock Teacher of the Year Award:

Mr. Bruce Murdock from Cedarcrest High School was named the first recipient of  CSRSEF Teacher of the Year award in March 2012.  Mr. Murdock and fellow teacher Kellie Halverson spent 5 years incorporating independent research projects into Cedarcrest High School’s honors science classes, creating problem-based research opportunities for over 50 students each year.  The continued success of Cedarcrest High School students in both the CSRSEF and the WSSEF can largely be contributed to Mr. Murdock’s perseverance and dedication.

In 2013, the CSRSEF Teacher of the Year Award will be renamed the Bruce Murdock Teacher of the Year Award to honor Mr. Murdock’s contributions to the science education in Washington State. He continues to build up the science fair community by serving on both CSRSEF and WSSEF advisory boards, as well as being the chair of the Scientific Review Committee for CSRSEF.