Job-Search Resources

INTERNSHIPS: Bellevue College may be able to provide academic credit for internships found outside of the CONNECT web site.  If you have found an internship and want to know if it’s credit-worthy under BC’s program, feel free to contact the Internship Coordinator by calling (425) 564-2279.

 

Jump To:

 

Bellevue College Resources

CONNECT: http://depts.bellevuecollege.edu/careers/connect-career-management-system/
Free resource for Bellevue College students, alumni, and community members. Contains announcements for jobs, internships, and volunteer opportunities. You can apply for many of these positions directly through this site. You can also upload your resume, connect with a professional mentor, and find job-search resources. Check out our Resume, Cover Letter, and Interviewing guides (available in PDF on the home page of CONNECT).
Twitter: http://twitter.com/BellevueCCC
Get Tweets about job-search related topics, including local events, helpful news articles, advice, etc.

General Career & Employer Research

Campus Point Employer Directory: http://campuspoint.com/directory.asp
Directory of local companies that includes the number of recent graduates hired last year, types of jobs made available, availability of internships, benefits offered to employees, work locations, and more.
Career Project: http://thecareerproject.org/
Interactive career profile database that allows you a personal and uncensored look into thousands of real careers and jobs through the eyes of the people who work them.
D&B Million Dollar Directory:
Available through the public library system. The D&B database contains detailed information on over $1.6 million North American organizations with at least $1 Million in revenue and/or 20 employees. A great way to locate potential employers that may fit your background/aspirations.
Glass Door: http://www.glassdoor.com
Get information about company salaries, as well as reviews & interview questions for 23,000+ companies. All posted anonymously by employees.
Interviewing Tips: http://www.best-job-interview.com
Great information on interviewing. Lots of job-specific advice.
Job Hunter’s Bible: http://www.jobhuntersbible.com
From Dick Bolles, the author of What Color Is Your Parachute. Includes various career exploration and job-search resources.
Princeton Review: http://www.princetonreview.com/Careers.aspx
Includes internship announcements and articles on the career planning process, college preparation and selection, etc.
Quintessential Guides: quintcareers.com/sample_resumes.html and www.quintcareers.com/resres.html
A multitude of quality sample resumes. Download the PDF’s and use them as a guide to create your own. Also find lots of resume-writing articles, worksheets, and checklists.
Riley Guide: http://www.rileyguide.com
One of the major portals to career and employment research. Full of information regarding career research, job hunting, picking a career, and employment agencies.
Wet Feet: http://www.wetfeet.com/
Provides profiles of companies, careers, and industries to guide job seekers toward finding the right career, the right industry, the right company, and the right job.
Yahoo Industry Directory: http://dir.yahoo.com/Business_and_Economy…
List of professional associations by industry.

 

Search Engines

All Seattle Jobs: http://www.allseattlejobs.com
Powered by JobDango.com
Career Builder: http://www.careerbuilder.com
**Craig’s List: http://seattle.craigslist.org/jjj
Lots of local jobs. Narrow your search results by industry. If you’re looking for an internship, be sure to check the “Internship” box. Subscribe to RSS feeds to get updates on jobs of interest.
Dice: http://www.dice.com/
Targets technology-related jobs.
Google: http://www.google.com
Search by the specific title and location, such as “Bookkeeping Assistant Bellevue, WA” or “Interior Designer Seattle.”
Google Alerts: http://www.google.com/alerts
Follow companies for which you are interested in working. Read recent articles and pick up job-search leads.
Idealist: http://www.idealist.org
Info about jobs at non-profit and community organizations in 165 countries.
**Indeed: http://www.indeed.com/
Top-rated search engine that pulls job postings from job/career web sites all over the country – search them all at once! Save time by setting up automatic updates to “feed” new jobs that are of interest to your email inbox.
**Intern Match: http://www.internmatch.com/
Provides national listings (with a focus on the West Coast), as well as useful articles for internship seekers.
Job Search Shortcut: http://www.jobsearchshortcut.com/metro/seattle/…
Lists local companies by area – Bellevue, Kirkland, etc.
Monster: http://www.monster.com
For entry-level and advanced jobs
Monster Trak: http://www.monstertrak.com
For entry-level jobs
Neuvoo: http://neuvoo.com/
Job search engine that indexes jobs directly for free from companies’ career websites, placement agencies and job boards.
Northwest Marketplace: http://www.nwjobs.com
The Seattle Times
Oodle: http://seattle.oodle.com
Philanthropy Northwest: http://www.philanthropynw.org
Philanthropic jobs throughout the Northwest.
SeattleCareers.com: http://www.seattlecareers.com
SeattleJobs.com: http://www.seattlejobs.com
SeattleJobs.org: http://www.seattlejobs.org
Seattle Recruiter: http://www.seattlerecruiter.com
**Simply Hired: http://www.simplyhired.com
Top-rated search engine that pulls job postings from job/career web sites all over the country – search them all at once! Save time by setting up automatic updates to “feed” new jobs that are of interest to your email inbox.
USAJobs.gov: https://www.usajobs.gov/StudentsAndGrads
One-stop portal for jobs in the federal government; for students in high school, college, or graduate school
Volunteer Match: http://www.volunteermatch.org/
National listing of high-quality volunteer opportunities; easy to search by area of interest and geographic area
WorkSource Washington: https://fortress.wa.gov/esd/worksource
Statewide job database that can be searched by occupational group and location. The site also provides links to classified ads, Northwest regional websites, national job boards, and specialty job boards. Registration is required to access the site.

 

Third-Party Recruiters (Placement Agencies)

Accountemps: http://www.accountemps.com
Accounting / Finance – a division of Robert Half International
Ajilon Professional Consulting: http://www.ajilon.com/
Information Technology
Campus Point: http://www.campuspoint.com
Business / Accounting / Engineering / Information Technology
Creative Circle: http://www.creativecircle.com/
Marketing, Advertising, Entertainment, Multimedia
Filter: http://www.filtertalent.com/
Interactive Media Design and Production
Kelley Services: http://www.kellyservices.us
Office, Accounting, Engineering, Information Technology, Law, Science, Marketing, Creative Services, Light Industrial, Education, Health Care
Kennedy Directory of Executive Recruiters: http://www.kennedyinfo.com/js/…
Book that includes an industry standard list of well-respected recruiters. Available in the Bellevue College Library.
Robert Half Creative Group: http://www.creativegroup.com
Creative, Marketing, Advertising, Web Design
Robert Half Finance & Accounting: http://www.roberthalffinance.com/…
Robert Half Legal: http://www.roberthalflegal.com
Robert Half Management: http://www.roberthalfmr.com
Robert Half Office Team: http://www.officeteam.com
Administrative
Robert Half Technology: http://www.roberthalftechnology.com
Scout Recruiting: http://www.scoutrecruiting.com/
Seattle-based, specializing in the placements of executive and high-tech jobs.
Volt: http://www.volt.com
Technology

 

Industry-Specific Resources

Physics Careers: http://scidiv.bellevuecollege.edu/Physics/Careers.html
Career planning pages of the Bellevue College Physics Department web site.
WEPan: http://www.wepan.org
Women in Engineering Programs & Advocates Network

Center for Career Connections » careers@bellevuecollege.edu » (425) 564-2279